Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is a, non-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world.

Founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University, the Sorority is currently a sisterhood of more than 200,000 predominately Black college educated women.

This includes 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, Canada, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea.

Delta Sigma Theta’s 5 programmatic thrusts

● Economic Development

● Physical and Mental Health

● Educational Development

● Political Awareness and Involvement

● International Awareness and Involvement

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated’s Public Motto



founders pic.PNG
  • Osceola Macarthy Adams

  • Marguerite Young Alexander

  • Winona Cargile Alexander

  • Ethel Cuff Black

  • Bertha Pitts Campbell

  • Zephyr Chisom Carter

  • Edna Brown Coleman

  • Jessie Mcguire Dent

  • Frederica Chase Dodd

  • Myra Davis Hemmings

  • Olive C. Jones

  • Jimmie Bugg Middleton

  • Pauline Oberdorfer Minor

  • Vashti Turley Murphy

  • Naomi Sewell Richardson

  • Mamie Reddy Rose

  • Eliza Pearl Shippen

  • Florence Letcher Toms

  • Ethel Carr Watson

  • Wertie Blackwell Weaver

  • Madree Penn White

  • Edith Motte Young

For more information, visit our national website at